Another newspaper is shutting down its operations and will publish its last newspaper today. This newspaper is in Denver, CO. This stuff is really getting to me. I love newspapers. I grew up on reading newspapers. My first job as a 10-year-old boy was delivering a daily newspaper.
The newspaper industry is changing and more and more papers are being forced to publish their info immediately on their Web sites. Advertising is down, subscriptions are down and old business model to keep a newspaper running successfully is not working anymore. The problem is the new business model isn’t quite made yet. It is non-existent at this point. Newspaper chains and publishing companies are starting to struggle and it’s scaring the Hell out of me.
My thoughts and prayers are with all of these people.
Here is a video – it’s pretty long, but very good, about the thoughts of the people in Denver and at the newspaper that is closing.

Final Edition from Matthew Roberts on Vimeo.

